Plant Life

This weekend I participated in two weaving workshops at the MCA, associated with the exhibition String Theory: Focus on Contemporary Australian Art.

On Saturday I joined the Tjanpi Desert Weavers from Alice Springs in a hands-on workshop creating objects and sculptures  using traditional weaving methods. and on Sunday I participated in a workshop led by the amazing Frances Djulibing and other artists from Ramingining, Arnhem Land in the Northern Territory. The workshops were great, I learned some new techniques and loved the focused and peaceful energy of women making things together…

I have two projects underway – a small coil basket using tjampi grass and raffia, and a mat/wall-hanging using pandanus.

I’ll be looking more at plants, here is a start:

Pandanus

We also learned to make string from the inner bark of the banyan tree

I learned, from one of my co-participants to make string from the dianella plant

I’ve also tried working with lomandra

I’m very interested in the idea of working with plants, particularly because they are a direct way to connect to place. p1190610

p1200024

Leave a Reply

