Project 2 | Stage 1 and 2 | Exploring marks and lines through stitch technique

I enjoyed this exercise a lot! I wasn’t expecting to, because I’ve been a bit hung up about drawing (see earlier posts) and this was effectively drawing with thread, which I’ve never done before…. or even contemplated. I set out to replicate some of the earlier mark-making exercises using pen, and I didn’t get hung up on doing it perfectly but being expressive. I’m thinking that some of the blockage in expressiveness could be my training in architecture – when the parallel lines were not parallel I almost stopped everything to unpick and start again – I considered marking the fabric – but luckily I gathered myself and pushed through, and soon after started to really enjoy it.

Pa1240283

Pa1240279

Pa1240281

Pa1240277

Pa1240285

 

Leave a Reply

