Inspirations: stained glass windows by Leonard French

As mentioned in the earlier post, I recently visited the National Library of Australia. My visit coincided with my first attempts at the colour exercises for the course (I’ve been computer-less for a while and my blogging is behind my coursework) and the stained glass windows in the foyer completely knocked my socks off.

There’s a nice little essay here, describing how the architect for the library, Walter Bunning, envisaged integrated art works in the foyer and commissioned stained glass artist Leonard French to create windows with the themes of “sky’ and “planets”. French based the windows on Gustav Holst’s wonderful orchestral composition “The Planets”.

The windows are beautiful and I have started some work inspired by them, which will be posted here as I slowly catch up with myself.

blog1004

blog1009

blog1008

blog1007

blog1005

blog1006

blog1003

blog1002

aren’t they special?

Leave a Reply

