Slight backtrack: creativity and making stuff. part 2

So in October last year, while the ink was still drying on my thesis, my partner and I joined a small group of artists participating in a master class at BigCi in Bilpin.

BigCi (Bilpin international ground for Creative initiatives), sited in a powerfully beautiful bush setting, is a micro artist residency program that supports artists by facilitating their projects, a wonderful initiative by my inspiring  friend Rae Bolotin.

The program was a master class on The Practice and Challenges of Site-Specific Land Art, conducted by internationally renowned Italian born, German based land artist Carlotta Brunetti. There are some great photos of the day in the BigCi News page.

My focus of my thesis was the site of site-specific art, and while I didn’t relly write about Land Art, I’ve always had a great interest in it, so of course I couldn’t resist the master class – although I’m most definitely NOT a “master”.

We only had a day and I can’t believe how much was squeezed in. We started with an inspiring talk and discussion of case studies, then were led on a bish walk through the property by Rae’s husband Yuri, who is a bush walker and explorer of note. We then had a short amount of time to create a work on site, and we finally viewed and critiqued each other’s efforts – a very full day!

For me it was wonderful to have the opportunity to respond to the magical site, and to create a work with my partner…. and it was my first bit of “making” in a long long time, I couldn’t have wished for a better place and better company in which to reignite my creative practice.

magical BigCi

magical BigCi

a place to connect

a place to connect

our site

our site

our installation

our installation

inspired by place

inspired by place

inspired by detail

inspired by detail

One thought on “Slight backtrack: creativity and making stuff. part 2

Leave a Reply

