Slight backtrack: creativity and making stuff. part 1

OK, so before I start to record of the work I’m doing for the course, I want to post about some recent adventures in making.

My main aim in signing up to this degree is to re-find (if that is a word) and rekindle my creative practice. I am very lucky to have a job I find rewarding, challenging and creative – but that creativity is focused on the work of others, not my own. For many years I balanced this job with part-time design tutoring in architecture and landscape architecture, and while this was again primarily about the creativity of others (in this case the students), I was doing sufficient drawing, model-making and leaps of imagination to have lulled myself into a sense that I was creatively satisfied. That all changed when I started my thesis and had to stop teaching. It can be argued that writing a thesis is a creative act (and a refined craft), but I have spent the last four years very much in my head and strangely restrained… to the point that I needed to burst out, for which I am hugely grateful.

I signed up to this course before I finished my thesis, partly as a motivator to finish and submit, and partly because I was hanging to make, learn, create, and think artistically again.

In the last few month, I was lucky enough to participate in a few workshops that have been inspiring and helping to get the making me going. I just want to touch on them in this blog.

See Slight backtrack: creativity and making stuff. part 2, Slight backtrack: creativity and making stuff. part 3, and Slight backtrack: creativity and making stuff. part 4.

slight backtrack 1

Leave a Reply

